Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - Customer Care Review

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments.

As a company, we consistently strive to reach the high standards expected of us by our clients. Nonetheless, we do understand that issues may arise and we are always very willing to clear up any queries or complaints our clients may have.

We understand that your allocated adviser has been in contact in order to explain why it isn’t possible to take out all your contributions and also provided you with copies of the paperwork which was originally signed with our organisation.

We have asked your adviser to get in touch with you again in order to go through any pending questions so that he can better explain why certain actions aren’t possible at this point in time.

Should you however need any further assistance please feel free to contact our dedicated Clients Relations Department on clientrelations@devere-group.com

Regards
deVere Group
ID
#957527 Review #957527 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

So I was contacted by deVere sometime late 2013 and signed on to a policy/product. Somewhere along the line I lost my job and things went bad.

I needed cash so I decided to withdraw from the policy and cash out.

It's been over 10 months now of disappointment, and the account manager won't pick up my calls or return missed calls till I make the one and half hour drive to their office only to be promised a new date which is not kept. Now I feel a lot of regret having signed up with this institution here in Ghana.

Thanks

BAF

Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - Check fees carefully, strong rotation financial advisors

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. deVere Group aims to recruit the very best employees and provides on-going training to ensure we can maintain the high standards we expect from all of our advisers. However, as the client, you are entitled to obtain second opinions from other advisers before choosing to invest. We are sorry that you have received unsatisfactory care following the departure of your deVere Consultant. We aim to make this infrequent transition period as smooth as possible for all of our clients.
ID
#935078 Review #935078 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Global scope
Cons
  • Transparency
  • Not clear about fees
  • Consistency
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Hi, I was approached by financial advisors of the Vere Group (in Switzerland) and they advised Generali Vision Plan. Although the 1st financial advisor seemed very engaged and I signed up to the Generali Vision Plan short thereafter he left the company and since there has been enormous rotation leading to practically no followup, delays in portfolio changes and limited advise, which led me to have to start doing it myself.

Recently I noticed that the fees of my Vision plan were significantly higher then was explained to me by the Veere Group.

In short it seems that it will become difficult to get a positive return on this plan. This is always a risk when investing, and I am sure De Vere Group has professional advisors as well, but I would suggest to be very vigilant on what you sign up to.

Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - DeVere is not independent

As this fund is the subject of regulatory investigation and possible legal actions by the Administrators, which we would support we are unable to comment further at this time.

deVere is working relentlessly with many parties to find a solution to this matter for the small number of its clients invested into this fund.

We will contact the clients who are invested in this fund once solutions have been found and when we have further updates.

Please feel free to direct any further queries to sgqueries@devere-group.com and we shall be pleased to assist.
ID
#931996 Review #931996 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Questionable advice given environment and customer profile
Reason of review
Poor customer service

In 2009 we approached a firm named Siddals in UK to obtain advice on investments which were to provide an income for our retirement in Spain. We made it very clear that we were not prepared to invest in anything that put our capital at any serious risk. The questionnaire that we completed confirmed our investment profile as “cautious”, which was described as follows: “I am cautious and dislike risk. I prefer security of capital and predictable investments. I accept that this may result in low rates of return being earned on my portfolio. I also accept that interest returns from deposit based investments move up and down, and when compared with the rate of inflation may produce a poor real return.” The proportion of my portfolio allocated to this risk profile was 100%. Siddals was subsequently taken over by the deVere Group.

In November 2009 deVere produced a report that recommended four funds: (a) Aria Absolute Income Protected Fund, (b) EEA Life Settlements Fund (c) Iveagh Wealth Fund, and (c) New Earth Solutions. The Aria fund offered 80% protection of the invested capital.

In June 2010 on the advice of deVere Spain’s managing director we sold our Aria investment and invested heavily in United Asset Management Strategic Growth Fund, United Asset Management Sàrl of Port Valais, Switzerland, (UAM). At that time, and not disclosed by deVere, was the fact that the deVere Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Nigel Green, was the 100% owner of UAM. This is clearly confirmed by the registration records of the Confédération Suisse of which I have copies.

At the time we were given a factsheet that described the fund as being “United Asset Management – Strategic Growth Fund”. The factsheet also stated that “currently, Mr Kellermann acts as the fund manager to United Asset Management”. This refers to Mr Cobus Kellermann, who at that time was joint owner of the Mauritius based Belvedere Management Group with Mr David Cosgrove. In a newsletter in March 2015 deVere claimed to have had a role in exposing alleged investment fraud being carried out by Belvedere. What deVere failed to mention was that the perpetrators of that fraud, Messrs Kellermann and Cosgrove, held senior positions in United Asset Management at the time and were instrumental in the failure of the Strategic Growth Fund.

Mr Cosgrove one of has, due to his failure to comply with the codes of the FSA, subsequently been disqualified by the Financial Services Commission of Mauritius from “holding position as officer in any licensee of the FSC for a period of 5 years”.

According to its News Letters deVere boast that it is the worlds largest “independent financial adviser”. As such it has an obligation to remain completely independent. This obligation was breached by its selling of investments through a company wholly owned by its CEO who was benefiting from an additional layer of fees paid by us as the investors.

In February 2013 deVere informed us of problems with the UAM Strategic Growth Fund and advised us to sell our holdings. We completed a dealing form instructing the sale of those holdings and the purchase of holdings in an alternative fund. Unfortunately, the advice from deVere was given far too late and on 22 February 2013, only five months after Nigel Green disposed of his interests in United Asset Management, the Strategic Growth Fund was suspended. Since 27 October 2015, the fund has been in administration with no guarantee of any monies being recovered by investors.

In November 2015 we submitted a complaint to deVere’s customer relations department. We received a response, not from deVere Customer Relations, but from deVere Corporate Legal. In its various responses to our complaint deVere has endeavoured to distance itself from UAM by saying that the Strategic Growth Fund had nothing to do with UAM. Initially deVere stated that the association between the two on the factsheet was solely for marketing purposes. If that were the case then the fund was, at best, being mis-represented.

deVere then changed its stance by stating that “whilst the fund in question may be labelled as the UAM Strategic Growth Fund by SEB Life International in its statements ...” This is a blatant attempt to distort the truth as the insurer at the time of our investment in UAM Strategic Growth Fund in 2010 was Irish Life International Ltd and not SEB. We also have a series of emails directly from deVere at that time which clearly label the fund as being “United Asset Management Strategic Growth Fund”.

Despite admissions by deVere that there was a serious conflict of interest and that there were other faults on its part the deVere Corporate Legal department constantly looks for loopholes and refuses to consider our complaint on its merits.

Through its unethical approach in advising us to invest in funds that were not appropriate for our risk profile, and its poor management, deVere has caused us to suffer a substantial financial loss and years of stress. This situation warrants financial recompense from deVere to compensate us for loss and stress.

Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - DeVere use positive comment 'flooding'

We have no record of any client by this name. If you have a genuine complaint, please email us at clientrelations@devere-group.com
ID
#929878 Review #929878 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
parasitic behaviour

A word to those looking for information on scams & unethical dealings by DeVere.They engage in careful content management and 'flood' sites like these with their responses which then rank first....knowing that people are lazy researchers.

Google's own research shows 53% of people do not look beyond the first two responses and 89% do not look past page one. They are 'managing' (read: manipulating) this site to bury their sins. This company is the worst of the worst- incapable of change as the corporate culture is rotten top down to bottom. They do employ naïve & desperate sales people who may appear plausible.

Tough times are coming to Dubai (Oct 2016) - hopefully this parasitic company will finally fold in this time- and never be heard of again.

Caute!

Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - Unhappy with DeVere

Dear Mr Rugg,

Many thanks for making contact with us.

We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service you have received from our company.

It is one of our priorities to ensure that client satisfaction is upheld that is why your communication has been referred directly to Kerry Newcombe who has made contact with you last week in order to follow up.

We have updated our records to reflect that you have changed broker however please do make contact with Ms Newcombe should you not receive satisfactory service from your new broker.


ID
#926959 Review #926959 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • See my comments
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

I first started with DeVere when I met one of their consultants in Cyprus,where they were based-all was well at first. They suddenly closed their local office and I was left with no information of who to contact.

4 weeks later I instigated contact with their London office and was able to resume a relationship with DeV . However as time passed I found that I was being passed from various consultants only discovering this when I initiated the contact, by 2015 I spoke to UK as I was not happy with the performance of my portfolio, to be told that at least it was better than the Cypriot Banks!!

4weeks after this I was still waiting for recommendations for my portfolio.

In addition to the above my consultant in Cyprus personally borrowed money from me, then went to their AD office in Middle East, she has not fully repaid this money and now refuses all contact. Suffice to say I have moved elsewhere, and would find it hard to recommend DeV to anyone

Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - Bunch of crooks

Dear Mr Innes,

As this fund is the subject of a potential legal matter we are unable to comment further at this time.

deVere is working relentlessly to find a solution to this matter for the small number of clients invested into this fund.

We will contact the clients who are invested in this fund once we have reached a solution.

Please feel free to direct any further queries to sgqueries@devere-group.com and we shall be pleased to assist.
ID
#911833 Review #911833 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Bad advice
  • Lies
  • High charges
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Invested in UAM Strategic Growth fund on advice of your adviser. He told me that it was medium-low risk. I even note that your founder Mr Green played a big part in UAM and knew about this funds executives. Apparently you say you advised investors to leave the fund but I for one never got any such communication.

In fact from inception of policy until I noticed that the fund was suspeneded there was zero communication form your represenatives.

Upshot--Guess what I lost the lot when the fund collapsed. Since then I've sent several emails to your client department and the adviser - latest emails get no reply

Obviously once you've got your pound of flesh the investor doesn't matter anymore

Shame on you!

Dear Mr Anon, we are very disappointed and concerned by your claims as these are issues we take very seriously at our company. Whilst we would like to stress that at no time did deVere Group own the Strategic Growth Fund, we encourage you to contact our Client...
View full review
ID
#838925 Review #838925 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Alicante, Valencia
I know that they are a legit company and offer some good products, but what has happened to them they seem to be having problems with the Thai SEC they say its the whole industry but i haven't seen any other advisories having to change their names or being told to stop...
View full review
10 comments
Anonymous
#1585459

I knew someone who worked for Devere. Sounds like they knew nothing and just sell anything they can to get their commission. They were laughing about the fools they had taken money from.

View more comments
ID
#651614 Review #651614 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bangkok, Krung Thep
Devere Group's reply to:

Devere group from an employees perception ( Dont fall for the trap)

We pride ourselves on offering the very best training and support in the business. We promote from within meaning that dedicated people get the chance to reach the very top. Unfortunately in our business, you won’t progress very far if you just let it be, you may even have to work a hard day’s night, but the rewards and opportunities are endless.
ID
#537363 Review #537363 is a subjective opinion of poster.

not going to write an essay or anything straight to the point.

Everything the Devere group say is a fraud..

there is no real incentives.

its like working being imprisioned in a cell with no window

no travel cost or accomodations included.

they say Visa takes 3 months and it is done on purpose so you have to spend money from your own pocket..

PLease and i beg my following job hunters who seem to be interested in this so called opportunity of a life time to NOT GO AHEAD WITH IT.

if something sounds to good to be true then it probably isnt.

Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - Devere Shanghai- mis-informed, ignored, lied to

Our client base continues to grow due to the trust built between our clients and our advisers. We strive to provide the very best independent financial advice to help clients reach their personal financial goals. We make sure that each and every client fully understands all terms, conditions and costs prior to authorising an investment. By signing the paperwork provided, you accepted the terms and conditions of your investment. Our plans are medium to long term investments offering potential flexibility after 5 years.
ID
#488886 Review #488886 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$35000

Devere Shanghai =bad bad bad.

Summary- my wife and I were told our policy had flexibility (i.e.- withdraw funds up to 50% of net worth at any time in ten working days) when in fact the policy Devere Shanghai sold us has no flexibility. Fees? Exorbitant! 2400 USD per year! Not in writing or in any literature.

You thinking about using Devere as your broker for FPI? Get every detail you can possibly think of in writing. Read on for our sob story and beware Devere Shanghai. They are sales-man. They are NOT financial advisors, not friends, and in my opinion, not to be trusted.

---

My wife and I opened a ‘retirement / college’ fund account in 2012 through DeVere in Shanghai, China. One of the good points of the product our broker recommended to us was it’s ‘flexibility’, according to our Shanghai Devere broker. "At any time (after the initial 18 month start-up period) you can withdraw up to 50% of the funds in the account for any reason and receive the funds within 10 working days." He knew that was a sales-closer for us. My wife and I wanted that flexibility. He said it did. We signed. 18 months went by.

We had an emergency in the family and needed to withdraw some funds. We contacted our broker at DeVere Shanghai multiple times via email and phone, even had him over for dinner twice and explained that we needed to withdraw 10,000 USD of our holdings (less 50%). We were ignored. After 2 months, we finally were able to set up an appointment at the DeVere office in Shanghai. We met with our broker at which time he asked us ‘why’ we wanted to do withdraw funds (like it’s any of his bloody business), and that we ‘shouldn’t’ withdraw funds as this product wasn’t made for this type of flexibility. In the end he agreed to let us withdraw a paltry 5% of our policy’s net-worth. We were shocked and frustrated. We decided to go with this investment because we were directly told in no uncertain terms that we could pull funds up to 50% at any time after the initial 18 months. We knew that we would need to do this for our girls’ college education expenses and of course in cases of emergencies. We felt comfortable investing our money knowing that we had access to some of our money throughout the life of the product for these two reasons (college tuition and emergencies). We even spent time working out a tiered plan with our broker (i.e.- in 5 years, withdraw to pay tuition, in ten years, withdraw to pay tuition, etc…). This plan along with the figure we wanted as a final goal for retirement was what determined how much we would contribute every month.

A total farce.

We asked DeVere how much we were being charged for their services. It took our broker 6 weeks to provide us with an arbitrary verbally spoken (un-written) answer- "about 2400.00 USD" for the first 18 months, and similar charges annually no matter how small a monthly deposit might be for the length of the investment (which is different from what we were told by our broker initially which was that "the charge after the first 18 months would be $120 annually". Those charges never appeared in a statement or on our credit card that we used for payment. They just pulled it from our ‘funds’, is how our broker phrased it. "You’ll never see it," he said. "It’s built in." When pressed, the arbitrary figure popped up. They cannot show us how they got it and won’t put it in writing.

Again, we were shocked. NONE of this is mentioned in our agreement or the policy paperwork that we were given and signed off on. We asked our broker at DeVere Shanghai for an itemized list of annual service fees and any other ‘charges’. To this day they have not provided us with one. In the end, DeVere Shanghai gave us verbal, un-documented, arbitrary amounts. I’ve gotten a very clear feeling that they have no clue or more than likely simply do not want anyone to know. They hide their service fees as much as they can. They are NOT transparent with their fees. DeVere has never showed us ‘how’ they came up with their figures. Nothing is in writing. No receipt. No itemized charges. Magical figures pulled from the air. Not acceptable.

We asked to close the account. DeVere Shanghai told us that we would surrender almost all of our savings and the majority of our earnings if we were to do so. It took them 5 weeks to figure that out and get back to us. Again, none of this is in writing in our policy. Nowhere does it state in the policy given to us by DeVere, or the Friend’s Provident literature, that in closing the account we would forfeit our entire investment and savings. No-where. Those words do NOT exist in any paper work provided.

Of course we don’t want to lose our savings. We asked if we could stop payment for a time. The broker said that that could be arranged. They would contact us. They have not contacted us but, as of now, Devere has not charged us for the month of March or April 2014 but again, nothing is in writing. We have requested a document from DeVere stating that we requested a ‘holiday’ from payment but again we have been ignored. Nothing is signed. Nothing is in writing for this and we fear other charges or financial repercussions.

I wrote Friend’s Provident in London and asked for answers to the questions below.

In a nutshell our experience with Devere in Shanghai has been horrible. The *** is the guy who sold us this product walks around our school as a community volunteer, rubbing shoulders with others trying to groom future sales. I want to stand up and shout his name but I am not doing that. Why slander his name when it won’t accomplish anything? At this point it's a 'he said vs. he said' situation. Best thing is, dear reader, if you regard my complaint with any seriousness to simply avoid Devere Shanghai completely. Then maybe management will deal with their own weaknesses in their own ways as they see a loss of sales.

We are in communications with FPI in London trying to sever Devere from our product. At least in that regards we don’t have to pay Devere a penny for services un-rendered.

Avoid Devere Shanghai. If this is the best they can do then they deserve absolutely no business from anyone.

We requested the following from FPI in London. We are in the midst of determining how to self-manage our FPI account. Blessings to those willing to read through my long-winded diatribe.

- Complete breakdown of fees and annual charges of our investment. We want to know that if we have ‘X’ amount in our portfolio, then what is the ‘Y’ amount that Friends’ or a broker will charge per year.o Decreased pay-in: what is the procedure? What are the changes in annual fees? o Increased pay-in: How to increase our monthly contribution or add a lump-sum contribution? Procedure? Costs? Changes in annual fees?o Hiatus- are there options to take a holiday from payments? What are those details? What are the changes in annual fees? Can we get something in writing?

- Self managed vs. managed. o Self managed? • What are the practical functions we have to self manage our investment, such as a change of Funds, decrease or increase monthly pay-in, and funds- withdrawal? • What are the differences in annual charges between self-managed or broker-managed? • What are the costs to any changes we make through self-management?- Flexibility options- details on withdrawing funds.o How much? Include both minimum and maximum amounts.o When? Time period(s) withdrawals can be made.o Time from a request to seeing the money in our personal bank account?o How to withdraw? Procedure?o Complete costs, if any, associated with withdrawals.

Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - Devere Wolfs of international investment Scams

We offer trusted international financial planning to over 80,000 clients around the world. Our client base continues to grow due to the exclusive investment products we offer and the effective financial planning our fully qualified financial advisers provide.

As the worlds most regulated IFA, our financial advisers are well-equipped to provide you with impartial financial advice, helping you to limit your risks but maximise your returns.

Our 450 international advisers are supported by our compliance team, who call clients to make sure that they fully understand all the terms and conditions of their investment(s) and to answer any queries they may have.

If you would like to find out more, please visit our website or drop into one of our 70 offices around the world (Addresses found on our website).
ID
#477637 Review #477637 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Devere are the 'Wolfs of international investments scams'. You saw the movie Wolf of Wall St?

This is DeVere Group & most of their associated companies like PIC, DeVere & Partners. They run their opperation like a well run boiler room scam. Great glossy website, nice brochures, global coverage. There are only a handful of people (if that) in each Devere office that have been with Devere over 3+ years & have any creditable financial qualifications. For the majority it's like a revolving door with 3, 6 & 9 months being pivotal moments. Most of the Devere staff will tell you out & out lies about their financial qualifications & work history to make themselves LOOK CREDIBLE. They lean a 4 page script back tonfront which is designed to emotionally break you down into handing over 50+ % of you international expat wage package. The retirement plan that you need to save so hard for, they will tell you all the money can be taken out after 12-18 months (all lies).

If it's anything Devere then STAY WELL CLEAR!!

Devere are viewed as an international JOKE in the financial world. Some of their Managers have personally been locked up abroad for previously running boiler room scams (fact). These are the kind of people who work in their company so you can now see where all the ingrained lies come from.

Devere claim to have strategic relations with big American Banks (some of those just been fined millions of $'s for bad practice). This then gives an excuse to upfront charge you 4% to enter their 'unique invesments'. Reality is they take 10-12% for your investment, WHO DO YOU THINK PAYS FOR THAT?

Nigel Green part owns a Malta based QROPS trust which they lock your UK Pension into (READ THE SMALL PRINT). It might sound like min fees... Your money will then be invested into their own underperforming white labelled funds which are almost guaranteed to go backwards.

Devere write internet blogs about 'devere scams' in an attempt to deflect you from seeing the true extend of client/ex employee feedback which has worked its way on to the net.

The opportunity we offer to aspiring wealth consultants is tough but ultimately rewarding. Our comprehensive training programme ensures that all our advisers are fully qualified with internationally recognised qualifications. Our advisers are continuously developed to...
View full review
29 comments
Anonymous
#941227

Anyone hear of Bernie Madoff, ripped off his friends & investors in billions, gotta do your due diligence before giving your money to complete strangers. Go with recommendations from your most trusted friends/relatives but also check past history/performance.

Don't trust anyone with your hard earned money unless you are 100% sure and even then, don't go all in until promised/expected results materialize.

View more comments
ID
#462930 Review #462930 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bangkok, Krung Thep
$50 M of deVere client money was recently locked down in Nigel Green's UAM Fund that he had his secretary Bev Yoemans front. International Advisor reported this astonishing news last week (May 2013). Nigel Green is no stranger to running his own funds into trouble,...
View full review
23 comments
Anonymous
#1529343

$50 M of deVere client money was recently locked down in Nigel Green's UAM Fund that he had his secretary Bev Yoemans front. International Advisor reported this astonishing news last week (May 2013).

Nigel Green is no stranger to running his own funds into trouble, he has a track record which is documented. I bet 90% of these clients didn't even know it was a deVere fund? DeVere have a habit of being conservative with the truth (as well we know). |Do I have to say much more, just read what deVere is all about below.

deVere claim my claim has no merit and I seriosly disagree on this. You have not made a full investigation and I will not go away until you will sit round the table and sort out your short commings. Search International Advisor- deVere $50 Million client money frozen. You'll see the backstage antics behind the scenes, but fortunately for deVere clients authorities have stepped in.

Nigel Green has taken his name off as Director (what a surprise)...

There will be much more bad news coming about these thieves, just wait and see. Monetary Loss: $50.

View more comments
ID
#412159 Review #412159 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$50
Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group - A BBC Panorama investigation into deVere's misselling

As one of the most regulated IFA’s in the world, the deVere Group strictly adheres to various international laws and procedures. Our compliance team regularly contacts our clients to ensure that all deVere Group procedures have been carried out according to company policy. With over 70,000 clients and $9 billion under advice and management, deVere Group are confident that only the very finest financial advice is provided. At no time has deVere Group been investigated by Panorama!
ID
#381536 Review #381536 is a subjective opinion of poster.

A BBC Panorama investigation into high commission and administration charges levied by one Nigel Green and the many companies he operates, one in particular which keeps getting negative worldwide publicity, deVere Group. Just google Devere scammers to see the truth about this shoddy outfit. Simon Pratt one of their recently resigned Directors is is hiding from the Hong Kong Tax authorities.

Spencer Lodge another disgraced Director who renagged on a charity ball bid to help Elton John's Aids Foundation. He is just about to embark on opening a international offshore brokerage up in Dubai of all places. As if Dubai didn't have enough already! DeVere currently have three offices fleecing expat's of their life savings.

These people should be on SFO most wanted list for crimes against hard working expat's. There are more names to be added to the list of international thieves of which there are many within the deVere Group.

Be warned, stay clear of the glossy deVere website, & smooth talking salesman who will give you a word perfect scripted meeting. All deVere meetings are scripted to carefully push you into an expensive front loaded retirement policy.

3 comments
Anonymous
#613991

This is all true you only have to looking it up, deVere can't deny the tsunami of evidence against the. This is not just disgruntled employees, it's clients talking and giving factual feedback. Deal with deVere your peril.

Don't say you haven't been warned!

Noneeded
#607563

To want to expose bad practice: send the link of this site and threads to everyone you know and ask them to keep sending forward...and just ask people to read and think twice before taking advise from anyone company listed in this site.

Anonymous
#605596

Make your own mind up about this dreadful company and the uneducated scammers that represent it. deVere have a nice flashy website but the staff are generally cheap people who will tell you anything to clinch the deal.

Remember the saying- 'Honesty is very expensive gift.

Don't expect it from cheap people!

This sums up deVere in their entirety.

View more comments (2)
Devere Group's reply to:

Devere Group scam I went on the rip off course

New recruits are trained to become fully qualified financial advisers, fulfilling deVere’s international regulatory obligations. deVere financial advisers do not have to pay for training or office costs. Advisers do use a predetermined introduction when meeting with clients; this is done to ensure that all facts about the company are correct. The main part of the meeting consists of what we call a ‘Fact Find’. This is where a deVere adviser will ask the client a set of questions to help us build a picture of where a client is today financially and where they want to be in the future. This can be as detailed as a client wishes and tends to be different with each and every client. The adviser will then be able to offer investment suggestions in line with the client’s goals. Working in financial services isn’t for everyone, but for those who work hard and offer sound financial advice, it can be a very rewarding career.
To find out more about working with deVere, please go to www.deVeredestinations.com. To find out more about the performance of deVere Group products, please click this link - http://bit.ly/12fXwiK
ID
#334829 Review #334829 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1

I went on the course. Interview, Joined an office in Europe and then left sharpish. Here is why.

I went to the presentation for devere and I have to say Nigel Green was mega enthusiastic about devere. He did lay it on the line about it being commission only and hard work, but he also said that I would be guaranteed two appointments a day, a coordinator when I arrived at my office and 50K in the bank within 10 weeks. I almost believed him, which was naïve and ***.

Next I had an interview was with a guy who said he was the former coordinator for Nigel Green. He was a real *** and I was a bit miffed as I had travelled a long way to Birmingham for what was in essence a 10 minute chat and a *** aptitude test for 10 yr olds, he was really only interested in whether I had the money to fund myself while abroad and that I was breathing.

Next I went on the course. It was mainly based on learning a sales pitch. I was stunned at the lack of financial training given. It was just a comedy sales course about learning a sales pitch to lead a customer into saying "˜yes' .

It would be almost impossible to fail the course. My trainer gave everyone the answers to the final day tests. The trainer on my last day sat down and he called the manager of my office and confirmed I had passed the course and that I would have a coordinator on arrival.

I started as an IFA not a coordinator. I arrived at my office a couple of weeks later. There were terrible morale issues from the start. Staff were coming and going all over the show, arguing and shouting. There was unbelievable racial abuse towards one black and one asian coordinator by the managers. I was told on the training course I would get help with finding accommodation but when I arrived I was simply chucked a couple of rental website links and told to get on with it. Contrary to what I was told at the presentation, interview and by the trainers, I was told by my office manager I would only get a coordinator after a couple of months and in the meantime, I was handed a list of 100 or so people to cold call and get some appointments for myself. After I had spent the 100 names I was to then find my own clients and was offered no help from anyone apart from some sympathy from some of the other guys in the same boat.

I was told by my manager that I would have to contribute towards office costs which I had no idea about before I arrived. I was told that the training course was free but my manager told me that I had to pay an additional 5% of my commission away on my first few deals to pay for the cost of the course and hotel. Most of the guys in the office said you would only get support once you started earning. It wasn't a good atmosphere. Most just felt they had been sold up the river and everyone was backstabbing everyone else. Some of us newbies would go to the pub after work and laugh about how we were tricked, honestly, you couldn't make it up.

I left devere within a short period because of all the deceit. Ok, all companies make things look a little brighter to get you on board but devere are n a different league and I had a problem working for a company that was happily willing to deceived me from the very beginning starting with the MD in that presentation. This might be the problem; the deceit comes from the top down. This isn't a company you can trust.

The final straw was watching as the manager and a so-called IFA laughed came back from an appointment having taken some guy for 10K in commission for a plan he didn't need and (as they pointed out with more laughs) was underperforming anyway. I didn't think there were really people like that but devere had plenty of them.

Now don't get me wrong, there were one or two guys in that office earning good money but in all honestly, even they agreed with me that within devere there was a culture of lies and deception and you had to put your conscience away in a locked room because you were taking clients for a commission rollercoaster ride. Most people were struggling big time and some had some frightening financial problems spending lots but not earning. Remember devere give you nothing, you pay for everything and some people didn't want to let go because they kept thinking the next deal was just around the corner. I met one guy who had spent near 15K chasing his illusive next sale! During my short spell 7 IFAs left and 6 coordinators walked all broke.

I spent about 3K on my trip and didn't make a bean. I had already decided it was gambling money, set my limit and I was prepared to lose it if it went wrong. I blame myself more than anything for not questioning some of the info I was given which always sounded a bit iffy. The trouble is you are blinded by the thought of earning all that money and it distorts your reasoning, but as one of the guys said to me "If you don't believe anything you are told, then you wont be disappointed'.

My advice for what it is worth is that for a chosen few it will be a risk worth taking but proceed with extreme caution and only do this if you have money you are willing and prepared to lose if it doesn't work out. Whether you make it or not, this isn't your average IFA business in fact it's not an IFA business it's just a sales outfit in IFA clothes. If you think you are walking into a professional IFA company, think again, it's just a direct sales company selling financial products that are poor performing and high paying in commission. Remember the products they sell abroad are banned in the UK. Ask yourself why.

So if you do go for it you have a 10% chance of making money and 90% chance of going broke but if you do want to make it, be sure you leave your morale's at home because you won't need them at devere

Provide as much information as possible, you will not be able to edit your review but you will be allowed to add on to it if you create an account during the submission process.

71 comments
Anonymous
#683502

OMG! Doesn't it just say everything when devere group IFA buy the domain name: deveregroupscam.com to get to the top of Google to try avoid the real negative results.

Surely, that's a devere own goal for anyone looking at investing with them who has any sense? Theses guys are so desperate to hide comments it beggars belief.

Noneeded
#682201

If someone has invested a single penny in this company in spite of all the websites of complaints, videos and a clear history of dubious acts of this company, HE or SHE deserves to get ***...you have been warned...the same goes to those taking up a job with this company...

Anonymous
#682060

Absolutely true and accurate. I have met Nigel Green and was an employee when the UAM fund was suspended.

The reason it was suspended? Well, originally set up to mirror 2 JP Morgan funds (so in essence completely unnecessary as you could just buy the funds directly and save yourself paying commission to your "adviser"), at some point in time it decided to step out of its remit entirely and invest in risky property assets. When the rumor came out that the fund was suspending, there was a (futile) rush to pull clients out, but it so happens that this was impossible due to Nigel Green and Mike Coady (both directors) getting preferential treatment allowing them to pull their funds out before every one of their clients. Treating customers fairly?

HHmmmmmmm I will let you decide. I have seen advisers "guarentee" returns of 10% per year, 100% immediate uplift in value when transferring a pension into a QROPS, its criminal what they are doing. I worked as an advisor for 2 months before needing to leave due to the massive hole in my pocket and conscience.

Dispicable company that relies on its international status and transient nature of its client base to avoid repercussion (after all if you get in a bit of a sticky situation, all you do is close down in that country as they did in Belgium and Cyprus or change your name and company structure) It makes me sick that people like this exist, honestly, stealing from pensioners just before retirement. They should do us all a favor and jump off a very tall building

Anonymous
#674352

I disagree as im doing this now and im flying high, seems to me that you just wernt cut out to be successful

Anonymous
#682065
@PissedConsumer674352

Really Ronaldo? Because I still have access to the deVere weekly sales figures and I have never seen your initials there. Also, to be cut out for success at deVere you must be seriously lacking in morals, you and I both know this, and if you don't, you will eventually.

Anonymous
#661928

Starhollow. I admire your efforts to get the truth out about devere group but I worked for them in Europe and they simple had caller withheld when dialing out.

They knew full well it was illegal but also knew it would be pretty much impossible to pin this on them without proof of a call coming in from them.

The practices in the office I worked at would be criminal in the UK but they are slippery conmen. I could fill you in on lots of info about them but at the end of the day you need evidence.

Anonymous
#661904

A bunch of us in our office had random calls from them, they would not say who referred them to us without meeting us in person.

They are thieves, steer well clear.

Patrick O
#661916
@PissedConsumer661904

could you please PM me your contact information? I am collecting proof of the illegal cold-calling activities in Germany in order to have the Bundesnetzagentur (authority supervising this) place a 50.000 EUR fine on them for constantly violating German consumer protection laws with their cold-calling.

And yes, stay away from them....most what they do is not legal in Germany and not even remotely considered to be "advice". Cheerio

Anonymous
#655992

I just don't get how people are still investing with these guys.

So the UAM fund, owned until recently by Nigel Green, the CEO devere, and now run by Beverely Yeomans, a devere PA, has gone under with £50Million of clients money.

So the devere sales force were flogging a fund that the boss owned! So, no conflict of interest then. Of course this isn't the only fund he has had interests in. Anyone remember the imperial consolidated fund he was involved with, that lost investors £250million in 2002.

I'm sorry to say that the only winner here is Nigel Green, and there are going to be a lot of unhappy investors with big losses.

But then why would you place your investment with a firm wholly unregulated outside of the UK and with commission only salesmen with double glazing backgrounds. Quite amazing how a good sales script and flashy website can extract cash from expats across the world.

Anonymous
#655597

The *** score looks to be a good guide to how much this complaint has hit a nerve. All the sales reps clicking away... :grin

View more comments (70)